Rebuilding.

Nehemiah 4:6-14

6 So we rebuilt the wall till all of it reached half its height, for the people worked with all their heart.

7 But when Sanballat, Tobiah, the Arabs, the Ammonites and the people of Ashdod heard that the repairs to Jerusalem’s walls had gone ahead and that the gaps were being closed, they were very angry. 8 They all plotted together to come and fight against Jerusalem and stir up trouble against it. 9 But we prayed to our God and posted a guard day and night to meet this threat.

10 Meanwhile, the people in Judah said, “The strength of the laborers is giving out, and there is so much rubble that we cannot rebuild the wall.”

11 Also our enemies said, “Before they know it or see us, we will be right there among them and will kill them and put an end to the work.”

12 Then the Jews who lived near them came and told us ten times over, “Wherever you turn, they will attack us.”

13 Therefore I stationed some of the people behind the lowest points of the wall at the exposed places, posting them by families, with their swords, spears and bows. 14 After I looked things over, I stood up and said to the nobles, the officials and the rest of the people, “Don’t be afraid of them. Remember the Lord, who is great and awesome, and fight for your families, your sons and your daughters, your wives and your homes.”

Today I felt God scolding me a little as I prayed for the country. How much heart have I ever put into considering service on a perspective of blessing the nation? I don’t have even half the patriotism my parents (and sisters) displayed as they stood along thousands of others during the EDSA Revolution. I admit, perhaps working in a government agency has even strengthened my disgust for politics and the skewed culture. I admit, I’ve been numbed to passivity because “it has always been this way”, how things hold up only for a while but we still compare ourselves to other mations and fall short. But today I was reminded of how God deeply loves my country and the people in it, how He has blessed our nation and preserved us thus far. Could He have done it without love? I prayed today and it’s as if He was saying, “Don’t stop.” Don’t stop having the faith that He can change things, no matter the opposition. Don’t stop loving my countrymen that I won’t serve them to the best of my ability. Don’t stop loving the nation to not give a damn where we’ll pick ourselves up in the future. It is God’s heart for us to love the ones He loves. And though it’s far from perfect, God’s heart hasn’t changed for the country; don’t stop building and investing in the nation’s future.

I long to see the nation walking in the light of God’s truth, leaning on God’s favor, trusting in God’s provision and guidance for advancement and success. I long to see our nation with people living their lives as the head and not the tail; a nation who leads and changes culture according to God’s will and God’s word, and not according to the times. I long to see our nation worshipping the one true God, and working as one for the good of everyone and that love unto God driving our love for our nation.

Maybe, malayo pa. But God says, “Don’t stop.”

Leave a Reply

